Friday, February 26, 2010

Lent

Many people wouldn't believe this but I am Catholic....actually I'm more Wiccan than Catholic. I am not what most would consider an active Catholic so I sorta converted to Wiccan. Still I have very few, if any, Catholic ways. Like Shannon seems to always tell me: Catholics fear and mourn their religion. Now why am I telling you this you ask? It's simple. This is Lent season. Lent starts off on Ash Wednesday (don't me why we have ashes, I forgot) and ends on Easter Sunday.

Typically it's about 40 days of hell. We are to fast and give up something spacial so we can prove our love to Christ. Don't know what giving up Mr. Goodbars has to do with loving Him but it does. During Lent we are to remember the time Jesus fasted for 40 days for us. During Fridays, we eat only fish. No meat is allowed. It's to remind us of when Jesus was able to feed hundreds with just one fish and a loaf of bread.

We continue Lent with Palm Sunday. It is to remind us about how Jesus came to town and everyone laid palms on the ground for Him to walk on. Which later on we have Good Friday; the day Jesus had the Last Supper with his followers (sorry if I offend anyone for not using the right word but I can't spell and don't feel like looking up the word). However Catholics have Good Thursday and Good Saturday before Easter Sunday.

Easter Sunday...the day I will NOT be going to Mass and sittingthere listening to the Priest talking about the same thing he's talked about for the last I don't know how many years. Sorry but those sermons sounds the same after 10 years. But Easter Sunday I will teach my son that Jesus died for our sins and he did it because He loves us. Then I will go outside, hide Easter eggs and enjoy watching him hunt for those colorful plastic eggs that the "Easter Bunny" left for him.


I found out there are a lot of famous Catholics in the world....not gonna list them all but it's quite a lot. So anyways, the reason I'm doing this post is not to tell you I'm a non-active Catholic that practices Wicca ways(no I'm not going to Hell)but to tell you that I'm really hungry and want a damn hamburger right now and I'd rather not eat then listen to my mother go off the deep end about how I'm not suppose to eat meat on a Lent Friday. I swear, people should fear a Catholic Puerto Rican woman that is set in her ways. That would be one good way of never getting on her good side.


Oh this pic...yes this is what happens on
Ash Wednesday. The priest makes a cross on your forehead
with ashes. Again, can't remember why but he does.
Sometimes I'd forgetto wash it off before bed and my
pillow would be black.

Okay, so I was going crazier than normal because I didnt know what Ash Wedanesday was all about...so to the internet I went and found this out.

Ash Wednesday, in the Western Christian calendar, is the first day of Lent and occurs forty-six days (forty days not counting Sundays) before Easter. It is a moveable fast, falling on a different date each year because it is dependent on the date of Easter. It can occur as early as 4 February or as late as 10 March.

Ash Wednesday derives its name from the practice of placing ashes on the foreheads of adherents as a sign of repentance. The ashes used are typically gathered after the Palm Crosses from the previous year's Palm Sunday are burned. In the liturgical practice of some churches, the ashes are mixed with the Oil of the Catechumens[1] (one of the sacred oils used to anoint those about to be baptized), though some churches use ordinary oil. This paste is used by the minister who presides at the service to make the sign of the cross, first upon his own forehead and then on those of congregants.

There, now you know...and so do I.

Monday, February 22, 2010

My normal school week

Sorry i haven't written anything in a week but Jeremiah got sick again. This time he was home all week with a really nasty virus. Needless to say, I got it too. But other than taking care of my kid all week i have been trying to catch up on my homework for school. It's not easy and I'm very lucky I only have to take care of one child and not more.
So anyways, I wanted to show you guys what I've been going in school. I'm only taking three classes. Two at the school here in town and one online. By far the hardest class I have is Algebra. Right now I'm working on slopes and plot points so it's not too bad. Fractions and percentages is my Achilles heel.

This first picture shows you an actually formula I need to use for finding the slopes of two points. When the numbers are plugged in, it's much easier. But most things look like this and I'm almost always going "What?"
I saw this and I wanted to smack someone. ALGEBRA IS NOT COOL!!!

Pretty much this is me after I get out of class. I just want to lay in bed, watch TV and try my darnest not to think about math.


The next class I'm taking is Psychology. It's actually my better class because I can do it online and not have to hurry with it. i have a week to get all my work done and not two days. All my homework is done online just like my quizzes or tests. So far I think I'm doing good.

The last class I'm taking is Speech. Doing the speeches themselves is not hard. It's doing the research for the speeches that's hard. Everything has to be perfect and everything has to be just right so everyone in the class can see your point of view. It sucks.



Well that's is. That's why I haven't written in so long. Sorry. I will try harder these next few weeks.

Monday, February 15, 2010

My Valentine's Day

so my vanetime's day went great! dean and shannon had a plan set up for me. shannon babysat while dean took me to dinner and a movie. may not sound like a lot to some people but to me it was perfect. dean wanted to take me olive garden but one: something came up and it couldnt happen and two: it was packed anyways. we ended up eating at sharro..sorry pizza and a movie has always been my idea as a perfect date. afterwards we went to see valentine's day. funniest movie i've seen in a long time. you'd laugh, you'd cry, and you'd want to watch it again. i would go see it again if i could. but while dean and i waited for the movie to start we walked the mall and i asked him to go into a photo booth with me. now im asking the impossible from someone that hates getting his picture taken. i think the ink was almost out but it was still lots of fun.


so needless to say i had a great night. i hope that this is the first of many valentine's days with him.

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Here we go again...

So if you haven't noticed I'll spill the beans. I didn't do a Manic Monday this week. I was doing it as something dumb to do every week but no one ever commented on it so I gave up. Actually what happened was that I had too much on my mind this week that I totally forgot about Monday and when i did think about it, I didn't care. This last week has been very stressful to me and everything that has happened to me has driven me to the point of: mess with me and I'll hurt you. Between school, Jeremiah, my parents, Jeremiah's father and trying to have a social life I'm stretched thin. I think also on top of everything, my stress level has finally gotten to high that my body is kicking my butt. I when to the doctor the other day because I was having trouble sitting, standing or just moving. Come to find out I had a massive back spasm and my entire spinal cord was inflamed. I left the office thinking: I'm too young to feel this old. I have a bad back, knees, ankles, wrists, neck, and massive headaches. I wish I was lying but it's so true. Sorry if this post is me complaining about eveything but I wanted to let people know (whomever actually reads this) that I'm not ignoring it it's just that I have so much going on this week.

Friday, February 5, 2010

Getting prepared...

So I had some luck this week and come into a little money and already I've spent too much. Mainly I spent it on myself, much like I do every year this time of year. So Valentine's Day is 8 days away and Dean has planned something and (me being me) have no clue what it could be. All I know is that Shannon is babysitting. So I thought: If I'm going to be kid free and Dean said I wasn't going to be paying for anything then it's gotta be something good. Thus the next few pictures.


I bought this dress because I felt really sexy in it. Then I saw this pic and wondered why would I torture myself. Truth is; I like it and I know Dean will too. It's perfect for Florida's weather and it's red...I don't own a red dress.

This would be another splurge on myself. I got these at playless for $4.50 after the 50% sale. I'm not use to heels but dammit, they look hot.
Now of course the perfect outfit isn't finished without a little bit of accessories. I didn't want to go crazy and I mostly just wanted the earrings.

So this is my planned outfit for next Sunday. I hope it all works out and Dean really likes it.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

I got a new tattoo!!

Hehehehehe!! *sings*
I gotta brand new tattoo
All the colors in it remind me of you
The blue is for the bruise that you left in my heart
And the red if for the color we're 'bout to paint this town
Oooh, I gotta new tattoo!
(I hear this song everytime someone says tattoo)
Okay I know I said I would post me getting the tattoo but it was spontanious and I didn't have my camera with me. But I had Dean with me and it didn't hurt too much. The shading hurt more than anything. So here you go! My new tattoo!!

Monday, February 1, 2010

Gifts for dreamers

So I figured since Valentine's Day is only 13 days away and I was already looking for gifts for the people most dear in my heart. Dean already knows what I'm getting him so I don't care if I show you what I'm planning.
I was thinking that I could spoil my boyfriend and get him a necklace. Problem is he's one of those manly men type so anything I'd get for him had to be manly. This charm is going to be engraved saying: In Loving Memory of my mom Lisa. I wasn't going to tell Dean about his gift but because of the engraving I wanted to make sure he didn't see it as me stepping over the line. Needless to say, he loved the idea and told me to go ahead with it. (I know he's great)
This one is for Shannon. I originally wanted to look up and give her a coupon for a free day without Logan and for her to relax with other friends even if it meant she might come home with me ready to kill something(notice: I said something not someone. Difference) So instead I thought that a candle would be better. She has a fascination with candles and I thought that maybe she could light the candle, take a bath, read a book and try to relax that way. Please notice I said: try.

This gift is for myself. I'm gonna spoil myself twice this year because I'm gonna get another tattoo. (That will be another post on another day) I guess this would work too if I had Twilight. I still have no idea why I haven't baught that it yet.

This is a belt buckle for my son, Jeremiah. His favorite turtle is Donnie and this one reminds me of Jeremiah because he's always mad at something or someone.

Last, Logan's gift. It's something simple and easy; everything he's not. Logan reminds me of Raphael because he always thinks he's right and hates following rules. (you know it's true Shannon)
Okay, I shared my gifts to everyone. Have fun with it.




Manic Monday

Guess what? It's Monday so that means it's time for another round of Calmed Craziness. I know it's not catching on but I put a lot of work into doing this so I'm gonna keep doing it because it makes me feel good and it makes me happy to know I can still be crazy and totally be me.


"This is a perfect way to start off the day, or week."

"He brings me good luck!"

"See! It's works!"